France moves 12 third countries from the red list to the orange list

After assessing the current COVID-19 situation, the French authorities have decided to remove 12 third countries from the red list and place them on the orange list.

The countries that have been removed from the red list are Ukraine, Moldova, Russia, as well as the nine southern African countries – Mozambique, Botswana, Lesotho, Eswatini, South Africa, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Malawi and Namibia – which were previously subject to the entry ban due to the generalization of the Omicron variant on their territory.

Two other countries have also moved to the orange list. However, they were previously part of the green list. The countries that have been moved from the green list to the orange list are Australia and Argentina, reports

Unlike the countries mentioned above, the COVID-19 situation has worsened in Australia and Argentina. For this reason, both countries moved from the green list to the orange list.

This means that travelers from countries that have moved from the red list to the orange list will now be subject to less strict entry rules when they arrive in France, while those from Argentina and Australia will need to follow additional entry rules.

All people entering France from an orange list country are exempt from self-isolation requirements provided they hold a valid vaccination certificate.

In addition, anyone, even fully vaccinated or cured of the virus, must present a negative test result carried out within 48 hours prior to their arrival in France.

On the other hand, unvaccinated travelers coming from an orange country must remain in isolation for a period of seven days upon their arrival in France.

France also has a red list. Currently, the red list includes Afghanistan, Belarus, Democratic Republic of Congo, Georgia, Nigeria, Mauritius, Montenegro, Pakistan, Suriname, Tanzania, Turkey, and the United States of America.

Fully vaccinated travelers from countries on the red list can currently enter Spain without restriction provided they present a pre-entry test. On the other hand, unvaccinated travelers must self-quarantine for a period of ten days upon entry.

As for the countries of the European Union and the Schengen area, they are all currently part of France’s green list, which means that they can enter under the rules of facilitated entry, provided that they fulfill all the necessary conditions.

Previously, France tightened its COVID-19 measures for everyone, including tourists. In addition, authorities announced that anyone over the age of 18 would be required to receive a booster shot to keep their vaccination certificate valid. This requirement applies to anyone who received their last dose of vaccine more than seven months ago.

>> New travel rules from UK to France explained

Comments are closed.